CR 227 Cameron Through Truss
Photo taken by aaron leibold in August 2011
BH Photo #208421
The original Bridge on the Bryan-Caldwell Road had been constructed at the site of the Pitts Ferry Crossing by the Brazos River Bridge Company as part of a multi-span toll bridge. In 1909 it was purchased by Brazos County and continued in use as a free bridge until 1930, when the Texas Highway Department constructed Highway 21. The bridge was abandoned upon completion of a new Brazos River crossing on SH21. After the Faubion Bridge fell, the county moved one of the spans of the old abandoned Brazos River bridge and erect it near the base of Sugarloaf Mountain. This unique peaked chord span is identical to the Sugarloaf and is most likely the second span of the Old Brazos River bridge.
- Abandoned Pin-Connected Parker Through Truss bridge over Little River on Road
- Cameron, Milam County, Texas
- Part of 1896 Brazos River Bridge relocated circa 1940 (Possible)
- - Brazos River Bridge Co.
- C. Q. Horton of Austin, Texas
- Unusual Parker Through Truss design utilizing a dihedral "peaked" top chord identical to Sugarloaf Mt. bridge on CR 264 located downstream.
Span length: 230.0 ft.
Total length: 230.0 ft.
- Approximate latitude, longitude
- +30.85581, -96.93595 (decimal degrees)
30°51'21" N, 96°56'09" W (degrees°minutes'seconds")
- Approximate UTM coordinates
- 14/697362/3415446 (zone/easting/northing)
- Quadrangle map:
- Inventory number
- BH 49326 (Bridgehunter.com ID)
- February 19, 2018: New Street View added by Dana and Kay Klein
- November 19, 2013: New photo from John Scruggs
- August 12, 2011: Added by aaron leibold