Rating:
1 vote

Hess's Mill Bridge

Share:

Photos 

Photo taken by Daniel McFarland

Enlarge

Map 

Description 

This two-arch bridge was built by John Weaver in 1832. It is unique in that one arch is so much larger than the other. The smaller arch may have accommodated the millrace which was located on that side of the Little Antietam and served the mill that was erected by Jacob Hess in 1754. ~ SOURCE: http://www.hmdb.org/marker.asp?marker=2003

Facts 

Overview
Stone arch bridge over Little Antietam Creek on Coffman Farms Road in Sharpsburg
Location
Keedysville, Washington County, Maryland
Status
Open to traffic
History
Built 1832; rehabilitated 1979
Builder
- John Weaver
Design
Stone arch
Dimensions
Length of largest span: 22.0 ft.
Total length: 55.1 ft.
Deck width: 16.7 ft.
Recognition
Eligible for the National Register of Historic Places
Also called
Coffman Farms Road Bridge
Approximate latitude, longitude
+39.48630, -77.70142   (decimal degrees)
39°29'11" N, 77°42'05" W   (degrees°minutes'seconds")
Approximate UTM coordinates
18/267672/4374228 (zone/easting/northing)
Inventory number
BH 19777 (Bridgehunter.com ID)
Inspection (as of 10/2015)
Superstructure condition rating: Good (7 out of 9)
Substructure condition rating: Satisfactory (6 out of 9)
Sufficiency rating: 84.0 (out of 100)
Average daily traffic (as of 2008)
265

Update Log 

  • July 11, 2011: Updated by Nathan Holth: Fixed GPS
  • December 19, 2010: Updated by Jodi Christman: Added builder and description, correct name
  • September 12, 2010: New photos from Daniel McFarland

Sources