Funkstown Bridge No. 2
Facing south west
Bridge is single lane (and quite busy)
Photo taken by Jodi Christman in November 2010
Quoted from: http://bridges.marylandmemories.org/funkstownNo2.html
Funkstown’s second bridge was built in 1833 and is notable not only for its beauty, but for its unique design. Three arches grow progressively longer as they march up the hill to the west. Its builder, George Weaver, also artistically combined rounded and pyramidal arches on the downstream side of his creation, which like its upstream neighbor still carries heavy traffic, although it has never been widened. Plans for its preservation, while accommodating increased traffic, are under way. With parking nearby, the bridge is a good a base for a tour of Funkstown.
- Stone arch bridge over Antietam Creek on East Oak Ridge Drive in Funkstown
- Washington County, Maryland
- Open to traffic
- Built 1833; rehabilitated 1983
- - George Weaver
- Three stone arches grow progressively longer as they march up the hill to the west.
Length of largest span: 35.1 ft.
Total length: 108.9 ft.
Deck width: 16.7 ft.
Eligible for the National Register of Historic Places
- Also called
- East Oak Ridge Drive Bridge
- Approximate latitude, longitude
- +39.61076, -77.71229 (decimal degrees)
39°36'39" N, 77°42'44" W (degrees°minutes'seconds")
- Approximate UTM coordinates
- 18/267154/4388072 (zone/easting/northing)
- Quadrangle map:
- Inventory number
- BH 19782 (Bridgehunter.com ID)
- Inspection (as of 11/2015)
- Superstructure condition rating: Good (7 out of 9)
Substructure condition rating: Good (7 out of 9)
Sufficiency rating: 81.1 (out of 100)
- Average daily traffic (as of 2009)
- November 7, 2010: Updated by Jodi Christman: Added more information about bridge (e.g., name, builder, bridge design description)