The original Cedar Ford covered bridge was built in 1885 over the Little Blue River NE of Shelbyville in Shelby County. This Kennedy Brothers built span stood at that location until 1975 when it was moved to the county fairgrounds. After having stood there for many years with no issues the unfortunate decision was made that it was a liability and should be removed. It was sold to a private party and then dismantled and stored out in the open with no protection. The parts were later acquired by Engineer Jim Barker, who incorporated the usable pieces into the design of this fully authentic covered bridge.
This was the site of the Millikan/Milligan/McMillan/Williams Covered Bridge that was destroyed by an arson fire in 1976. Remnants of the original abutments of that bridge can be seen just West of the current bridge. Although that bridge wasn't a Kennedy built span, there were at least two of them that once existed in Monroe County.
A true testament to the vision of Mr. Barker and county officials for finally getting this accomplished after decades of planning.
Reconstructed Burr Arch covered bridge over Beanblossom Creek on Old Maple Grove Road