Deadwood Covered Bridge 37-20-38
Deadwood Covered Bridge
Photo taken by Michael Goff on March 27, 2010
BH Photo #159742
Once considered one of Oregon's most dilapidated covered bridges, the Deadwood Bridge is now among the state's finest refurbished roofed spans. Lane County bridge builder Miller Sorenson, who supervised the Deadwood Bridge construction in 1932, recalled the construction was unique. Flooring was installed on a slant so that traffic rounding the corner onto the bridge would travel more safely. The cost to build the bridge totaled $4,814, and the bridge became part of the state's secondary road system.
The span was bypassed in the 1970s with a concrete bridge providing a more direct route on Deadwood Road about onehalf mile away, and little maintenance was given the covered bridge. When the structural condition worsened in the early 1980s, county officials decided to rehabilitate the covered bridge. In 1986, workers replaced damaged siding, flooring and portal boards, along with work on the bracing, roof and approaches. Following restoration to near mint condition, a dedication ceremony in October 1986 marked the reopening of the bridge to traffic.
All lateral bracing use steel tension rods. The top and bottom chords are made of one piece old-growth timber. The original house had portal openings that were semi-elliptical but the design was changed to a Tudor arch style when the bridge was restored. The house has a long window opening on the north side of the bridge.
(Reference: Roofs Over Rivers, by Bill and Nick Cockrell)
- Covered Howe through truss bridge over Deadwood Creek on Deadwood Loop Road
- Lane County, Oregon
- Open to traffic
- Built 1932, Rehabilitated 1986
- - A.C. Striker (County Bridge Superintendent)
- Miller Sorenson (Construction Supervisor)
- The Deadwood Covered Bridge is a 105-foot covered Howe through truss. The bridge has one key unique feature. The bridge's timber deck has installed on a slant to allow for easier driving around the curve the bridge was placed on. The bridge also features four timber stinger approach spans, two on each approach.
Length of largest span: 105.0 ft.
Total length: 177.2 ft.
Deck width: 17.7 ft.
Vertical clearance above deck: 9.0 ft.
Posted to the National Register of Historic Places on November 29, 1979
- Approximate latitude, longitude
- +44.14333, -123.72028 (decimal degrees)
44°08'36" N, 123°43'13" W (degrees°minutes'seconds")
- Approximate UTM coordinates
- 10/442391/4888044 (zone/easting/northing)
- Quadrangle map:
- Windy Peak
- Average daily traffic (as of 2010)
- Inventory numbers
- ORNBI 39C551514500030 (Oregon bridge number on the National Bridge Inventory)
NRHP 79002099 (National Register of Historic Places reference number)
BH 30032 (Bridgehunter.com ID)
- Inspection report (as of August 2015)
- Overall condition: Fair
Superstructure condition rating: Satisfactory (6 out of 9)
Substructure condition rating: Satisfactory (6 out of 9)
Deck condition rating: Satisfactory (6 out of 9)
Sufficiency rating: 62.7 (out of 100)
View more at BridgeReports.com
- March 10, 2014: Updated by Dave King: Added NRHP info & imported photos