The old bridge crossing the Missouri River at Bolivar Street from Jefferson City to Southern Callaway County was quite unique. The main span of three spans, nearest to Jefferson City on the South side of the river, was supported by a single, round column and was identifiable by the larger superstructure. It was on this single column that the main span of the bridge would rotate 90º to allow boat traffic to pass through due to the limited clearance between the substructure and the river surface. This rotation was effected by a diesel engine below the bridge surface providing power to rotate the deck of the main span. Due to the limited size of the diesel engine, rotation of the bridge was slow and in some cases motor traffic could be disrupted for as long as 45 minutes. Until approximately 1935 the bridge was owned by the JC Bridge Company and a toll was charged to cross the river. In approximately 1935, the bridge was acquired by the Missouri Highway Department and all tolls were dropped. Shortly thereafter a larger diesel engine to rotate the span was installed as well as a control house located in the upper portions of the superstructure of that main span. Shorter rotation times resulted and scheduled opening times decreased the frequency and duration of interruption of bridge traffic. The bridge was replaced in the mid-1950's and was finally torn down in 1958.