1951 postcard photo
BH Photo #256144
Bunker Hill Covered Bridge was built in 1880 and lasted until 1961 when it was destroyed by arson. It stretched over Gunpowder Falls on Bunker Hill Road, about 1.1 miles northwest of Hereford. Most accounts list the bridge as 110 feet in length.
Bunker Hill bridge was often mentioned in Covered Bridge Topics newsletters. In the December 1948 Issue, Volume 6, Number 4, it stated that "Bunker Hill bridge near Hereford was first built in 1880 and became so dilapidated that it was restored in 1947."
Covered Bridge Topics also reported in its January 1962 Issue, Volume 19, Number 4, that "Bunker Hill burned down on November 17, 1961." (Information taken from an article in the Baltimore Sun, November 18, 1961.)
In an article in the Baltimore American, April 4, 1954, Jane Plant wrote: "On Bunker Hill Road, near Hereford, is a fairly long bowstring bridge, the only covered one left in Baltimore County. Gunpowder Falls is a fast, deep stream there in the valley and the bridge is very dark inside. It seems very enduring."
A second covered bridge at the same location was built in 1963 and unfortunately was arsoned in 1971. Today, the bridge abutments and wingwalls still remain on Bunker Hill Road over the Gunpowder Falls.