Hiram B. Trout and his brother, Everett Trout, were born on a farm about five miles north of this location. They operated a machine shop in Shelbyville, Illinois in the late 1800's at which in time they invented and patented the unique design for this Pony Truss Bridge. They built about 150 of these bridges between 1892 and 1897 which were erected in Shelby and neighboring counties. The design feature which makes this bridge unique is the use of round pipe in the cords, end posts, and verticals instead of the usual rivet connected channel plates, and angle iron material. This bridge was erected over Richland Creek near the small community of Fancher in Shelby County. It was in service for 88 years from 1895 until 1983 when it was reduced in width from 16 feet to 8 feet and moved 70 miles to the Cumberland Rest Stop for preservation by the Illinois Department of Transportation.