Armstrong Gravel Pit Bridge
Photo taken by Jason Smith
The Armstrong Gravel Road Bridge is one of a few rare examples of truss bridges built by A.H. Austin and one of two left by the bridge builder that has a unique portal bracing with the star heel bracing. The other is the Murray Bridge in Humboldt County. When visiting the bridge in 1998, it was derelict with the roadway rotted away to a point where the lower chord could be seen. During the visit, the decking was replaced and the bridge appears to be privately owned.
- Derelict through truss bridge over East Fork Des Moines River northwest of Armstrong
- Emmet County, Iowa
- Privately owned
- Future prospects
- Bridge is privately owned. New deck was added since 1998
- Built 1899 by A.H. Austin in Kossuth County; relocated here in the 1940s to serve a gravel pit; abandoned 1971
- - A.H. Austin of Webster City, Iowa
- Pin-connected, 6-panel Pratt through truss
- Approximate latitude, longitude
- +43.41156, -94.51239 (decimal degrees)
43°24'42" N, 94°30'45" W (degrees°minutes'seconds")
- Approximate UTM coordinates
- 15/377552/4807629 (zone/easting/northing)
- Quadrangle map:
- Inventory number
- BH 13446 (Bridgehunter.com ID)
- March 29, 2015: Updated by Dave King: Added category "Wooden deck"
- September 12, 2011: Updated by Jason Smith: Bridge is now privately owned; new decking added recently.
- October 10, 2005: Posted photos and info from Jason Smith
- Jason Smith - flensburg [dot] bridgehunter [dot] av [at] googlemail [dot] com