Danville Bowstring Bridge (Piers Only)
Danville Bowstring Bridge (Piers only)
Photo on south side of Petit Jean River.
Photo taken by J. Randall Houp, November 25, 2006
BH Photo #225588
Written by J Randall Houp
Three photographs of original piers built by Tillman J. Gaydon in 1880. The piers still stand today as a testament to the quality of his work. The limestone rock was quarried in Yell County and was brought by wagon to this location on the Petit Jean River. Cost of the piers were; $1,740.00. When the Danville Bowstring was dismantled in 1920, the same piers were again used for the brand new pass-through truss. The Danville Bridge (now called; Danville-Mickles), will be moved back to Danville, but not at this location. The old piers are slowly deteriorating and crumbling from age. They can easily be seen upstream as your coming into Danville from the west on Arkansas 10.
- Piers only. Original bowstring bridge over Petit Jean River at this location was relocated in 1922 to Mickles, ARK.
- Danville, Yell County, Arkansas
- Replaced by new bridge
- Built 1880
- - Tillman J. Gaydon (piers)
- Approximate latitude, longitude
- +35.05901, -93.39585 (decimal degrees)
35°03'32" N, 93°23'45" W (degrees°minutes'seconds")
- Approximate UTM coordinates
- 15/463903/3879658 (zone/easting/northing)
- Quadrangle map:
- Inventory number
- BH 51348 (Bridgehunter.com ID)
- February 20, 2012: Essay added by J Randall Houp