Rating:
No votes cast

Johnson Ford Bridge

Photos 

Johnson Ford Bridge

Photo looking upstream (south)

Photo taken by J Randall Houp in October 2009

Enlarge

BH Photo #225591

Map 

Brief history: 

Written by J Randall Houp

The first bridge at this location was built in 1908 by the Morava Bridge Company, when the crossing was known as the Sam Lee Ford. The piers of the original bridge can still be seen on both ends of the current bridge. Destroyed by flood in 1939 the crossing became known as the Johnson Ford and a new bridge was built by the W.P.A. with parts off the old bridge. Their craftsmanship in building the piers are shown in the attached photographs. Today, the bridge contains a unique all metal floor. This is an unusual bridge sitting in a very picturesque setting.

Facts 

Overview
Bridge over Short Mountain Creek on Johnson Road
Location
Logan County, Arkansas
Status
Open to traffic
Design
Steel stringer
Also called
Sam Lee Ford Bridge
Approximate latitude, longitude
+35.26769, -93.68828   (decimal degrees)
35°16'04" N, 93°41'18" W   (degrees°minutes'seconds")
Approximate UTM coordinates
15/437398/3902946 (zone/easting/northing)
Quadrangle map:
Paris
Inventory number
BH 51349 (Bridgehunter.com ID)

Categories 

Arkansas (1,706)
Beam (14,016)
Logan County, Arkansas (75)
Open (38,388)
Owned by county (19,748)
Steel stringer (5,493)

Update Log 

  • February 20, 2012: Essay added by J Randall Houp

Sources 

  • J. Randall Houp